My Art Wish List – 2011

So now that I shared about the art I collected in 2010, I am now going to list out the artists whose work I admire and would like to collect in 2011. 

First, this is my no means an “exclusive” list….there are many artists I do admire and will probably purchase their work, maybe in the coming year.   If I had time and the room on this blog, I would list them all.    This list doesn’t reflect who I feel have superior work over others in the DC area either.  They are just artists who have caught my eye regarding adding to my collection –simply put, I love their work!

Jacqui Crocetta

This past spring, my art was selected to be a part of the annual Laurel Art Guild Opened Juried exhibition at Montpelier Arts Center.  At the exhibition opening, I discovered Jacqui Crocetta’s soothing abstract work.  I looked for her during the reception but did not have a chance to meet her.  I did become enamoured with her artwork that was part of the exhibition and started to follow her website regarding exhibitions. 

Jacqui along with another favorite artist of mine, Sonya Lawyer, will be a part of a group show at The Blackrock Center for the Arts that opens in early January.

Jamea Richmond Edwards

I recently discovered this young artist through DC Black Artists, specifically the current exhibition entitled Focus Group: Four Walls, Five Artists, curated by Zoma Wallace of the DC Commission of Arts and Humanities, currently being shown at the DC Arts Center.  I have yet to visit the exhibition (but plan to) but I will say when I saw random photos of the show, this artist’s work really captured my eye.  And I said to myself, yup, I have to get to know this artist and acquire some of her work.   Her mixture of drawing and mixed media is some of the best I ever encountered

Victor Ekpuk

I have long admired Victor’s work but once I had the opportunity to visit his studio and work with him for the MAS 10 Artists for 10 Years show, I really became a fan.  Also, I was delighted with his personality and his quick wit!  For such a renown artist, he was one of the most down to earth people I have ever met and was honored to work with him.  Much of his work is a bit beyond my price point, however, there is one piece that was in the show, entitled Men on the Corner, a simple drawing, which really caught my attention.  This is kinda of in the “one that got away” category….but there are always room for second chances! 

J’Nell Jordan

I had the opportunity to work with J’Nell this summer as part of an exhibition I curated in Baltimore. This young DC area artist’s work is  absolutely stunning….her sense of realism reminds me of the work of the late Ernie Barnes.  I was working to try to obtain one of her pieces, but alas, was not able to get it this year.  Another “one that got away” at least for this year.

Charly Palmer

I have long admired Charly Palmer’s work, especially when he released a series featuring the major Civil Rights era events of 1968.    His use of mixed media and painting imagery to tell a compelling story is genius.  He’s work is in my “a bit out of my range, but may try for” category. Charly,  a nationally renown artist based in Atlanta, Georgia who rarely shows in this area, currently has a solo show at Galerie Myrtis in Baltimore, Maryland through mid-February. 

So who’s on your list to collect in 2011?

