My #ReVERB10 – Reflecting on 2010

This year was a powerful year that manifested many blessings for me.  My company Authentic Contemporary Art celebrated 5 years of existence and was one of the most successful years yet.  My own artwork was selected for great juried exhibitions this year.  I learned much about business, family, friendship, art and life in general. 

Reverb 10 is an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next. I did this last year and since we’re at the end of 2010, I thought I would do it again.    The prompts are based on a 31 day of reflection….I selected the day(s) and prompt(s) that I felt I wanted to share online.

December 1 – One Word:  Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word

Last year, I choose the word “focus” as my word for 2010.  I think I did pretty good with that one…I focused on the opportunities and the ideas that followed to make those opportunities a reality.  When my focus got off kilter, I worked hard to get back to being focused and things turned out alright.

A subtitle or second word for 2010 was Reinvention.  Read more about my thoughts regarding reinvention here.

December 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year?

I cultivated a sense of wonder by making myself very present and aware of situations that I encountered that touched me deeply.  Whether it was witnessing children making artwork, visiting a museum exhibition or watching someone’s pet play with toy, I took time to take in the “wonder” of the experience.

December 6 – Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

The last thing I made was artwork using a skateboard as my canvas.  I used mixed media to create the piece.  I need to make more time for creating my own artwork in 2011. 

December 7 – Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

I have discovered a “community” in learning more about the “Green” movement as a curator for the Center for Green Urbanism.  I have interacted with this community of social conscious individuals on and off-line and feel richer for creating some wonderful networking opportunities.

December 9 – Party. What social gathering rocked your socks off in 2010? Describe the people, music, food, drink, clothes, shenanigans

In September, my best friend from Atlanta came up to the DC area for work and we hung out at JoJo’s on U Street with his friends and my soror, who was celebrating her birthday.  We listened to a live performance by Colie Williams, a local talented vocalist, ate good food  and just had a wonderful time.  I felt I was finally around people who really “get” me, LOL!  Colie and I reconnected and she (and the restaurant) appreciated the lively presence of our group.

December 10 – Wisdom. What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out?

To follow my gut, my intuition, not personalities.

December 13 – Action. When it comes to aspirations, it’s not about ideas. It’s about making ideas happen. What’s your next step?

To continue to follow my intuition not personalities, LOL!

December 14 – Appreciate. What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it

I have learned to appreciate my family more.  Life is not promised so I try to express gratitude to them by being more present in their lives.

December 17 – Lesson Learned. What was the best thing you learned about yourself this past year? And how will you apply that lesson going forward?

Factor stories from conclusions, assumptions and facts.  Get back to the facts.

December 22 – Travel How did you travel in 2010? How and/or where would you like to travel next year?

Did a lot of domestic travel this year (New York City, San Fransico, San Antonio, Gettysburg).   I would love to get back down south to see my peeps in Atlanta, St. Simons Island, and really would love to go overseas.

December 25 – Photo – a present to yourself.  Sift through all the photos of you from the past year. Choose one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be. Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words.

 

December 29 – Defining Moment Describe a defining moment or series of events that has affected your life this year.

To have successfully curate two major exhibitions at the same time (Ten Artists for Ten Years  and ReCREATE) and receive accolades for both. 

December 30 – Gift Prompt: Gift. This month, gifts and gift-giving can seem inescapable. What’s the most memorable gift, tangible or emotional, you received this year?

To be given the opportunity to curate my own dedicated space for the Center for Green Urbanism. 

As I close this year, I want to thank all of the partners, organizations and artists that I was fortunate to work with this year and who believed in what I do.  Special thanks to the Center for Green Urbanism and the Millennium Arts Salon for believing in me and encouraging me to go beyond my own expectations .  I thank all the folks who supported the creative projects that I worked on this year.

I believe that the video below sums up my sentiments for where we are as a whole and where we all need to move towards in 2011.   Here’s to creating a more compassionate society in 2011.  Let’s truly WAKE UP!

Namaste

sjb

