New Year & New Work

Happy 2014!

I started this year out by silencing all social media and pampering myself as well as participating in a powerful yoga session at Pure Prana Yoga in Alexandria, Virginia.  It was good to take time out for myself and turn off the “noise” of the world.

I am moving into 2014 slowly….making some adjustments in my life as well as creating!

Below are two works I completed during the first couple of days of this year.

Peace of Mind (2014) 5 x 5 acrylic and mixed media on canvas

Above is Peace of Mind, a small “warm up” piece I did based on a friend’s discussion about how much he loves horse back riding as a way to deal with stress on the weekends.  I am thinking this might be a little mini-series of simple, small collages that focus on the theme of “peace of mind”….how people choose to relax, relate and release.

 

Rosa 7053 - Legacy Series, (2014) mixed media on wood panel.

Rosa 7053 – Legacy Series, (2014) mixed media on wood panel.

 

Next is my first completed work of the Legacy wooden fan series that I started in late 2013.  This one is an ode to the memory of Rosa Parks, the Civil Rights icon who was the impetus of the Montgomery Bus Boycott in Alabama in 1956.

I am hoping to share more of my art journey this year (fingers crossed)….LOL!

sjb

