5 Questions for 2016

1-read-more-books2-get-a-new-hobby3-try-rock-climbing4-be-more-creative-1

Soo…a whole year has passed and I have not blogged at all in 2016, and even thought about abandoning this blog altogether.  But the Universe had other ideas….I woke up today feeling that yeah, I want to start blogging again.  So here I am.

Since you will need to go else where to see some of the highlights of 2016 for me (my Instagram is the most up to date way to track me these days), I thought I would share during these last few days of this iconic year my summary for all that went right and where I might need to improve.

I am a big Danielle LaPorte fan (I was self-initiated into Desire Mapping this year) and recently she posted the above list of questions to her readers as a way to sum up their experiences and begin to plan for the next year.  Last night I rose to the occasion and wrote in my journal my answers to these questions.  I am sharing some of that below to help encourage others to consider completing this exercise.

Highlights of 2016

  1. What Didn’t Work?

  • Saying yes when I knew in my soul I wanted to say no.

  • Settling for less.…in relationships, friendships, partnerships, projects, etc.

  • Not enough gym time….after being in pain due to a spine injury in 2015, I was a bit reluctant to do the gym thing as hard as I did.  I am now paying for it by being less in shape but been working with my trainer the latter half of the year to try to get something in.

  • Eating – my diet needs an overhaul, LOL!

  • Communication:  In many cases my communication skills was lacking, leaving unnecessary bitterness and misunderstandings that could have been resolved much quicker.

  • Not always sticking to my personal promises to myself regarding self-care, time for creativity, and personal boundaries with people.

  • Better choices on where to show my artwork that resonate with the style of my work.

2. What Did Work?

  • This was a transition year.  I wanted to stick my toe into some new avenues and areas that I wanted to explore beyond fine art advisory and curation.  That experiment was a success with the projects that I engaged in.

  • Expanded my own spirituality through studying the Chakras

  • My sacred space/altar

  • Getting up early to engage in my spiritual practice every morning.

  • Deepened my yoga practice on a weekly basis.

  • De-cluttering and getting rid of a lot of junk

  • Participating in an Desire Map workshop with others like minds to create a different vision for their lives.

  • Personal development through writing and art journaling

  • Attending new and unique professional development opportunities to expand my career interests such as Expressive Arts.

So what does my list of highlights say about 2016 and about me?

  • Move forward with new ideas, activities and direction

  • Build my knowledge base and share more

  • Trust my intuition

  • Spiritual practice is imperative for grounding

  • Keep creating

So what do I need to do to help my upcoming year be successful (or is full of stuff that works?).

  • Deepen my spiritual practice as a way to further ground me.

  • Create…and let it be more of a priority.

  • Adopt a fearless, courageous stance on all that I do.

  • Stay open to people, conversations, ideas and opportunities.

  • Keep my body moving through yoga and exercise…especially exercise that incorporates nature.

  • Focus on more love,  laughter, and  listening with my family and friends.

Thank you 2016 for all of the lessons and blessings! Look forward to manifesting in the New Year!

